The 9pm National Plan to Plan to Have a COVID-19 Plan with Upulie Divisekera and Dr Trent Yarwood

Upulie Divisekera (left) and Dr Trent Yarwood. (Photos: Supplied, digital processing by Stilgherrian)

The Late Winter Series 2021 of the Edict continues with a look at how Australia is handling the COVID-19 pandemic. Our guests are science communicator and medical researcher Upulie Divisekera and infectious diseases physician Dr Trent Yarwood.

We talk about the snappily-titled National Plan to transition Australia’s National COVID-19 Response, the supporting modelling from Doherty Epidemiology, how Twitter science is the very best science, hazelnut chocolate, mRNA vaccines, gut parasites, the Reckon Vacuum, vaccine hesitancy, the politicisation of the pandemic response, and much more.

This podcast is available on Amazon MusicApple PodcastsCastboxDeezer, Google Podcasts, iHeartRadio, JioSaavn, Pocket Casts, Podcast Addict, Podchaser, SoundCloud, Spotify, and Speaker.

You can also listen to the podcast below, or subscribe to the generic podcast feed.

Thank you, Media Freedom Citizenry

The 9pm Edict is supported by the generosity of its listeners. If you’d like more special guest episodes in the immediate future, please subscribe for special benefits or throw a few coins into the tip jar.

This episode it’s thanks to Elissa Harris for taking out an Edict 02 Schooner subscription, and to Keith Duddy.

And of course it’s thank you to everyone who supported The 9pm Late Winter Series 2021 crowdfunding campaign during July.


THREE TRIGGER WORDS: Joop de Wit, Sheepie, and five people who choose to remain anonymous.

ONE TRIGGER WORD: Brenton Realph, Dave Gaukroger, David J Bruce, David King, Frank Filippone, Gavin C, Jonathan Ferguson, Jordan Wightman, Karl Sinclair, Liz Darvill, Mark Newton, Mick Fong, oberonsghost, Paul Williams, Peter Blakeley, Peter McCrudden, Peter Sandilands, Peter Wickins, Phillip Merrick, Ramsay Smith, Ric Hayman, Ross Nye, Scott Reeves, Syl Mobile, and one person who chooses to remain anonymous.

FOOT SOLDIERS FOR MEDIA FREEDOM who gave a SLIGHTLY LESS BASIC TIP: Alex Kidman, Andrew Kennedy, Brian Smith, Chris TheHoff, Christopher Neal, Craig Batty, David Heath, deejbah, Garth Kidd, Kimberley Heitman, Paris Lord, Peter Blakeley, Peter McCrudden, Susan Rankin, Tim Johns, and two people who choose to remain anonymous.

MEDIA FREEDOM CITIZENS who contributed a BASIC TIP: Errol Cavit, Michael Keating, Peter Viertel, and two people who choose to remain anonymous.

And another twelve people chose to have no reward, even though some of them were the most generous of all. Thank you all so much.

Episode Links

If the links aren’t showing up, try here.

Series Credits