The 9pm Year of Brain Worms, Drama, and Despair

Composite image of Mark Humphries, Tegan Taylor, Osman Faruqi, and Yun Liang, guests on this episode of The 9pm Edict.

What a year! At the end of 2020 we can’t even gather people in a pub to talk about how terrible it was. Well we can. But we shouldn’t. So we didn’t. We did this instead.

In this ridiculously long episode of The 9pm Edict, I chat separately and remotely with four very special guests to consider what happened in 2020 and what it might mean for 2021.

  • Award-winning satirist Mark Humphries (@markhumphries) of 7.30 fame etc, inaugural champion of Mastermind Australia, former co-presenter of Pointless Australia, and much more.
  • Health and science reporter Tegan Taylor (@teegstar), co-presenter of ABC Radio’s excellent Coronacast.
  • Journalist Osman Faruqi (@oz_f), editor of the 7am podcast, among other things.
  • Yun Jiang (@yun_aus), editor of The China Story blog at ANU and a director of China Policy Centre. Also one of the people that Senator Eric Abetz kicked off at.

We talk about so, so many things, including journalism, quokkas and quolls, the Melbourne lockdown, savoury biscuits, COVID-19 (obviously), China, Scott Morrison, birds, the politics of policing, the economy, Donald Trump (also obviously), and much much more.

And it’s all punctuated by my own musings on the magnificent and most memorable year that was 2020.

This podcast is available on Apple Podcasts, Castbox, Deezer, Google Podcasts, iHeartRadio, JioSaavn, Pocket Casts, Podcast Addict, Podchaser, SoundCloud, Spotify, and Speaker.

You can also listen to the podcast below, or subscribe to the generic podcast feed.

Thank you, Media Freedom Citizenry

The 9pm Edict is supported by the generosity of its listeners. You can subscribe for special benefits or throw a few coins into the tip jar. Please consider.

This episode it’s thanks to Dave Gaukroger, Franksting, Kimberley Heitman, and two people who choose to remain anonymous.

And of course it’s thanks once again to all the people who supported The 9pm End of Spring 2020, listed here for one last time.

CONVERSATION TOPICS: David King, Phillip Merrick, and Tim Holland.

THREE TRIGGER WORDS: Christopher Neal, John Lindsay, Joop de Wit, Rami, Wyld, and two people who choose to remain anonymous.

ONE TRIGGER WORD: Andrew Groom, Benno Rice, Crispin Harris, Edward Thompson, Frank Filippone, John Twyman, Jon Eaves, Jonathan Ferguson, Karl Sinclair, Mark Newton, Matthew Moyle-Croft, Michael Cowley, Mick Fong, Paul Williams, Peter Blakeley, Peter Sandilands, Scott Reeves, Wade Bowmer, and four people who choose to remain anonymous.

FOOT SOLDIERS FOR MEDIA FREEDOM who gave a SLIGHTLY LESS BASIC TIP: Andrew Kennedy, Bob Ogden, Chris Lawrence, Coralie Naumann, David Heath, deejbah, dfk, Drew Mayo, Emma Cooper, Garth Kidd, Katie McLaughlin, Karloscar Hall, Leanne O’Donnell, Mathew McBride, Matthew Hall, Michael Harris, Michael Keating, Michael Rowe, Paris Lord, Peter McCrudden, Ric Hayman, Rohan Pearce, Smurfingbeer, Stacey Ryan, Stu Annels, Susan Rankin, Syl Mobile, Tim Bell, and seven people who choose to remain anonymous.

MEDIA FREEDOM CITIZENS who contributed a BASIC TIP: Anthony Agius, Daniel O’Connor, Errol Cavit, Greg Randolph, Jason Anderson, Kate Carruthers, Lucas James, Peter Viertel, Raena Jackson Armitage, and five people who choose to remain anonymous.

And another 11 people chose to have no reward, even though some of them were the most generous of all.

Episode Links

If the links aren’t showing up, try here.

Series Credits