The 9pm Penny Wong Cardboard Dog Covid Update with Yun Jiang

Yun Jiang. (Photo: Australian National University)

The spring series of The 9pm Edict comes to a belated finale with special guest Yun Jiang, the inaugural China Matters Fellow at the Australian Institute of International Affairs. And guess what? We’re discussing news from China.

In this episode we talk about the historic meeting between Australia’s foreign minister Senator Penny Wong and her Chinese counterpart Wang Yi, the lifting of China’s zero-covid policy, China’s efforts to attract and retain scientific talent, China’s ambitions in Antarctica, the plight of international students and how their experiences change their views of Australia, Chengdu rapper Xie Di, and of course cardboard dogs.

This podcast is available on Amazon MusicApple PodcastsCastboxDeezer, Google Podcasts, iHeartRadio, JioSaavn, Pocket Casts, Podcast Addict, Podchaser, SoundCloud, Spotify, and Speaker.

You can also listen to the podcast below, or subscribe to the generic podcast feed.

Thank you, Media Freedom Citizenry

The 9pm Hardware Refresh 2023: Click through to pledge your support

The 9pm Edict is supported by the generosity of its listeners. To support this and other projects, please consider pledging your support to The 9pm Hardware Refresh 2023 by 26 January 2023.

At the time of posting we’re already 80% of the way to Target One.

If you miss the deadline, you can always throw a few coins into the tip jar or subscribe for special benefits. Please consider.

This episode it’s thanks to Dave Gaukroger, whose Edict 02 Schooner Annual subscription renewed, Edwin Groothuis, and Karletta Abianac .

And it’s thanks for the final time to all the generous people who contributed to The 9pm Spring Series 2022 crowdfunding campaign.

CONVERSATION TOPIC: Gay Rainbow Anarchist and Richard Stephens.

THREE TRIGGER WORDS: Peter Sandilands, Peter Viertel, Phillip Merrick, Sheepie, and one person who chooses to remain anonymous.

ONE TRIGGER WORD: Andrew Groom, Bic Smith, Bic Smith (again), Bruce Hardie, Elana Mitchell, Errol Cavit, Frank Filippone, Gavin C, Joanna Forbes, John Lindsay, Jonathan Ferguson, Jonathan Ferguson (again), Joop de Wit, Karl Sinclair, Katrina Szetey, Mark Newton, Matthew Moyle-Croft, Michael Cowley, Miriam Mulcahy, Oliver Townshend, Paul Williams, Peter Blakeley, Peter McCrudden, Ric Hayman, Rohan Pearce, Syl Mobile, and four people who choose to remain anonymous.

PERSONALISED AUDIO MESSAGE: Mark Cohen and Rohan (not that one).

FOOT SOLDIERS FOR MEDIA FREEDOM who gave a SLIGHTLY LESS BASIC TIP: Andrew Kennedy, Benjamin Morgan, Bob Ogden, Garth Kidd, Jamie Morrison, Kimberley Heitman, Matt Arkell, Michael Strasser, Paul McGarry, Peter Blakeley, and two people who choose to remain anonymous.

MEDIA FREEDOM CITIZENS who contributed a BASIC TIP: Bren Carruthers, Elissa Harris, Opheli8, Raena Jackson Armitage, and Ron Lowry.

And another five people chose to have no reward, even though some of them were the most generous of all. Thank you all so much.

Episode Links

If they aren’t showing up, try here.

Series Credits